RSS

An Open Letter to Glenn Beck

09 May

Dear Glenn Beck,

BeckTVShotI’m writing because your words today caused great alarm. I doubt you remember me, so here’s a refresher:

When I wrote a blog post last Fall that went viral (oh my gosh, are you as sick of that phrase as I am?) about a commercial ABC aired during the morning news, your producer called and asked me for an interview.
In my first interview with you – for your radio show – you asked me to lead a boycott of Disney (ABC’s parent company). You asked me to organize moms to march on Disney in protest.

You said to hit ‘em where it hurts – their bank account – and they’d stop airing this stuff.

I declined. I told you I wanted to be a part of the solution by creating entertainment worthy of our time and talent. 

You told me to consider the boycott idea. Held it up as the only way to effect change in our TV content. “It’s all about the money, Rebeca.” Told me to consider a boycott before we talked again. Said you’d put your resources behind me if I’d just take on the idea.

That was a heady moment, Mr. Beck. You’ve got a lot of resources and your fans are very loyal. The tiny woman in me who is mesmerized by the shiny ball of resources started screaming. “Shut up, Rebeca! You do not tell Glenn Beck no! What are you thinking?!”

(I was thinking boycotts don’t solve anything. I was thinking a few million folks not watching a multi-billion dollar network’s channel for a bit wouldn’t make a hill of beans’ worth of difference. I was thinking I needed to focus on causing actual change, not just screaming about causing actual change. I was thinking I can’t – with integrity – tell people that they are making a difference in TV content by holding a sign and marching or by not watching a channel for a little while. I thought a lot of things and wrote them here.)

I stuffed tiny woman’s voice back in her closet. She returned with every call and blog comment telling me to take you up on your offer. A couple hours later, you interviewed me again for your TV show, Mr. Beck.

You opened this second interview by asking me if I’d reconsidered – was I now ready to organize this march on Disney? You offered your resources again. You’d back the effort, I just needed to lead it. I told you it wasn’t about money, it was about the ideology of those in charge.

You laughed.

You told me it was about the money.

Like I just didn’t get it.

And now, it sounds like you get it.

Today, the Blaze reported this quote from your show, “The arrogance on all fronts is just astounding,” he said. “And that’s why when you call your cable company, they don’t care about you. … Honestly? They don’t even care about the American market anymore. All they care about is expanding overseas, because those are growth markets.”

That’s right, Mr. Beck. It doesn’t matter if we call a cable company. If we march on Disney. If we yell or scream.

The article went on to say, “Beck said whether we like it or not, the world is about to change, and that’s why those in power are sending a ‘very clear’ message that ‘you won’t work; you won’t eat; you won’t be accepted anywhere in society’ if you have a different opinion.”

We disagree again, Mr. Beck. And the dangerous impact of your words demanded that I write.

Those words devastate and destroy and depress the people we work with. The people who are the solution.

So I’m writing you to say this:

You are accepted in entertainment if you are someone who wants to create and distribute worthy content. Uplifting. Thought-provoking. Genuinely entertaining. Clever. Intelligent. Soaked in talent and skill. Mainstream. You do have a community to consider. A community that is connected. That is productive. That is committed to principle. That is young but is growing and getting it done.

PrintWe call it SON: Spirit Of Naples.

We’d be happy to have you.

With all sincerity,
Rebeca Seitz

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “An Open Letter to Glenn Beck

  1. gbseitz@comcast.net

    May 9, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    Excellent. Let the blogging begin! And see if he sees it.

     
    • Rebeca Seitz

      May 9, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Well, he’s a busy man with a lot of big fish to fry…but those words felt dangerous enough to need a response.

       
  2. Meredith

    May 9, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Reblogged this on Meredith's Musings and commented:
    I stand with Rebeca Seitz on this.

     
    • Rebeca Seitz

      May 9, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Aw, thanks for that, Meredith! There’s a lot of comfort and strength in standing shoulder to shoulder.

       
  3. matt

    May 9, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    You’re still

     
  4. hopefulcircus.wordpress.com

    May 10, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    this was a ‘share worthy’ post. I agree with ‘some’ of what Beck says. I dont always know what the answer is (but I do know when it is the wrong answer) I admire you for being able to think clearly, while being interviewed live. I can’t always focus enough ‘in the moment’ to know what is right immediately. I have to go to a quiet corner, sort out ‘stuff’ and then look closely, clearly. Then, I know what to do or say.

     
    • Rebeca Seitz

      May 12, 2014 at 8:22 pm

      Thanks for this note! I completely understand the need to sort through, process, and let the mind have room to consider. Truth be told, I’m that way most of the time. When Beck asked for a boycott, though, it was a pretty immediate reaction within me against the idea. I wasn’t clear about why, but I was clear that I didn’t need to take part. Boy, did I mentally wrestle after that first interview, though! When the level of resources he offered are on the table, it’s a hard, confusing thing to hear that small voice whispering, “Not that way.”

      For the past four years, I’ve had a verse taped to my laptop. It reads, “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it.’” It’s from Isaiah 30:21. When I read that verse and think about my solid reaction against a boycott, I knew that I’d been told which way to go. All I had to do then was let my brain catch up to what it had been told – to reason out the why behind the what. :)

       
  5. richt619

    May 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Rebecca,

    You and I have had parts of this conversation before……..I am not sure it is one or the the other.

    Most people are not against advertising per se. It is a question of volume and content. So that, in theory, a respectful engagement would work. This is being played out in competitive environments like music streaming services (e.g. Pandora). They have 4-6 ads per hour – none in bad taste. If they increase frequency of the ads they risk losing subscribers to competitive music services. 95% choose free add-supported, 5% no-ads. A balance has been achieved because there is healthy competition and open access driven by consumer choices.

    The media delivery power base has been in favor of the networks and they have abused it. Now it has it is shifted to the people. I believe this is at the heart of Glenn Beck’s point. The people pay for the goods, the advertising, the content – basically every single element through commerce. So a shift to a position where they have a say in how they are spoken to and how often would make sense. After all we are the networks “cash cow”? There is too much money at stake for the networks to shift to a more balanced relationship.

    My approach to achieving this is to allow people to view something else they wish in place of ads without affecting their ability to view the primary content (e.g. Disney). I think it makes alot of sense since it also allows for the delivery of additional affirming content! The networks will adapt. More affirming content will come in any event – with or without their co-operation. The network monopoly on content is over as by-product of the shift to people power. People will decide on what they want to watch, when they want to watch it. Networks should learn to play nice, and work with a multitude of sources of content if they wish to remain relevant.

    It would be nice if we all could work together to achieve this since we can create a much nicer world.

    God Bless

    Rich

     
  6. Rebeca Seitz

    May 12, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Rich. I remember our discussions well.

     
    • richt619

      May 13, 2014 at 2:46 pm

      I very much believe in what you are doing. I try to the see the “and”. Something that will unify us.in service to Him.

       
  7. Michael Bey

    May 13, 2014 at 11:43 am

    Excellent letter. I’m trying to make a possitive movie that would be entertaining to a mainstream audience, but with a strong moral message. I’ve received virtually no support, but God has continually supplied all the film’s needs. I like Glen Beck, but don’t always agree with him. However, he’s shown there’s a huge audience for conservative values, at least if his success is any measurement (he made more than Opra last year!). Keep up the good fight Rebeca. Prayers and believing for SON and what it’s trying to do. God bless.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

