RSS

Sweet Silence

27 Feb

Do you ever want to just be quiet? I work in the world of words – books, stories, screenplays, pitches, dialogue, monologue, email, text, voicemail, Facebook, Twitter – the word-flow is unending. Words hold value. They convey meaning. They wield power. And they’re being tossed out without forethought. Like they don’t have an effect.

Sometimes, words overwhelm me. I crave silence. Simple silence. No one communicating. No message to hear or decipher. Just silence.

The problem is that I suck at being still. I know, I know. All my Christian readers just thought, “‘Be still and know that I am God,’ Rebeca, it’s in the Bible.” You’re right. A close friend of mine, Russ Pruiett, sings a gorgeous version of that song. Every time Russ sings it, I smile. I am still while he sings.

But then the song ends. And the phone rings. Or my kiddos need something. Or the Droid dings. Or my husband has something to share. Or a client has an idea. Or an author/artist wants to talk about coming into Reclaim. Or an editor wants to talk about acquiring a project. Or a publisher wants to see if GRPR can provide publicity for a book. Or a family member needs a writing favor. Or, or, or. All the words rush back in. They’re important words. They need my attention and reaction. To show love, I must listen and give a considered response.

Except I crave silence. My ears hurt from hearing, my eyes ache from reading.

I have to give myself permission to be quiet and sit in the silence. To not think about what needs done, who needs what from me. To just go rest in the Father God’s lap and be quiet.

How do you manage to be still? Do you have a special place to which you run for silence? A ritual that ushers in the quiet?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2011 in Life Lessons

 

6 responses to “Sweet Silence

  1. Nicole L Rivera

    February 27, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    The shower is my quite place. Or, if my mind I racing I read Harry Potter, getting lost in that story eases my mind then I am ready for some productive silence.

    Great post 🙂

     
  2. Joe Stinson

    February 27, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Rebeca-

    You should always be in the process of writing at least one book. That way you can justify the self-imposed solitude as the stewing of new ideas. I sometimes do my best writing when my fingers are not moving.

     
  3. Sally Apokedak

    February 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I hesitate to answer, because I hate add words to your overloaded day. 🙂 I think I know how you feel. Sometimes I hate email and even hate reading—find no pleasure in it—which just about kills me because I love to read.

    But since you asked:

    Sunday is a no-work day for me each week. I will read books for enjoyment on Sunday, if I want.

    On other days, I don’t turn on my computer until I have time in my Bible and prayer each morning. I find that I have time during the day to get everything done when I take time with God. But when I jump right into work, I’m more harried and less effective.

    I also hike three times a week with my daughter. She’s a quiet person so we spend an hour on trails in a wooded area and we hardly talk at all. It’s very hard for me to take the time to do this. I would neglect it if I could. Thank God my daughter drags me out. It’s a great way to enjoy God’s creation and recharge. And even when my daughter and I do talk, I find connecting with my children to be a different kind of communication than the work kind, and I enjoy it.

    Now that I have the morning discipline down, I’m working on trying to force myself to turn off the computer a few hours before bed so I can read for enjoyment or spend time with the children.

    I have the luxury of having time to do these things. I know many people don’t. They are working too hard. But I think that people who work from home have a tendency to not have set hours, so their work feels like it’s bleeding all over their days and they don’t have any down time. So I think it’s especially important for people who are running their own businesses or working from home to force themselves to have work hours and God hours and family hours.

     
  4. Rebeca Seitz

    February 28, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Thanks for the feedback, y’all! Joe, I AM always in process of writing at least one book. I never thought of that as a good excuse for silence, though. Great point. Nicole, I do my best PR campaign planning in the shower. 🙂 And, Sally, you’re absolutely right about working constantly when the work is from home. Yet another reason I’m SO excited that we’ve finally found office space in Nashville. We’ll be moving in as soon as I return from teaching at the Florida Christian Writers Conference this week and weekend. WOO HOO! Now I’ll just need to conquer that concept of leaving work at the office…

     
  5. Kim L Abernethy

    March 2, 2011 at 4:33 am

    My heart resounded with you! There’s a certain feeling that comes over me when silence is the only medicine. I drive. I get in the car, put my phone on vibrate and drive. Or I put on soft jazz….soothing, benign music and I go in to see how all those instruments connect to bring such balm to my soul. Thanks for the affirmation that silence is indeed golden. 🙂

     
  6. Linda DeBoard

    June 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    First thing every morning before anyone else gets up. The quietness of the morning is precious. Begin with looking outside your window, speaking to the LORD, and then head for the couch with His Word in hand. A little praise music if time allows is the added treat…to sing praise back to Him. Keep it simple.

     

Leave a Reply

 
