RSS

Win the Holidays? Really?

30 Nov

WBestBuy_WinTheHolidays_120hen I first saw the ad, I thought I must have misunderstood. Between the kitten being in his nightly Pyscho Cat mode (read: running all over the living room climbing lamps and curtains), the dog barking to go outside (he’s a basset hound mix with the deep bark to show for it), The Hubs banging pots and pans around in the kitchen behind me (thank God he can cook or we’d all starve), Firstborn practicing his trombone upstairs (man, that sound carries) and Darling Daughter watching an iPad at top volume in the chair beside me (headphones, gotta get her some headphones), it’s conceivable that I mistook the gist of the commercial.

“Everybody hush for one minute!” I yelled and pushed the rewind button. Darling Daughter pulled her headphones off to see what caught Mommy’s attention. Hubs paused. Even the kitten and dog calmed down for a second.


“….because when you give tech,” the voiceover intoned, “people won’t just love it, they’ll love you. Win the holidays at Best Buy.”

Oh. Okay. Guess I heard it right the first time.

“They don’t know what Christmas is about,” Darling Daughter said, and put her headphones back on.

“Wow. Talk about crass materialism,” Hubs said. “It’s not even tongue-in-cheek. They mean it.” He went back to food prep.

I shook my head. I may not get all up in arms about whether someone says, “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holidays” but this is a bit much. Christmas is NOT about the presents, Best Buy and Aban Commercials. What a sad, isolating concept you’ve put into the world: buying love.

Christmas is about the human birth of One who would perform a selfless act for undeserving people that will stand forever as the Greatest Gift of All. It’s the only Gift that sets us free from selfish traps like materialism and competition to outdo each other.

“. . .but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

That “Christ” is the One whose birth we celebrate at Christmas. We give gifts to each other as we remember the good gifts that were brought to Him upon His birth, and the best gift He gave the world.

Take a breath, Best Buy. Step out of the rat race, Aban Commercials. I think your soul took a detour a few miles back.

Things aren’t the thing. Why use your precious marketing dollars and broadcast time to promote such a sad concept? Your brand is (was) better than that.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2015 in Industry Reflections, The Misc Bucket

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Win the Holidays? Really?

  1. Linda Rodante

    November 30, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    I saw another ad this weekend that showed a woman opening a box with a sweater (not too bad, I thought), but she stuffed it back inside quickly and went for the next box. There was something in it she loved (I guess another Win the Holidays commercial). I don’t even know what they were advertising because all I thought was “Great. This is just how we want to raise our children! No appreciation for the thought or money spent on one present. Just throw it aside and go for the next!” Absolutely ridiculous!

     
  2. Linda Rodante

    November 30, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Writing for God, Fighting Human Trafficking and commented:
    I saw another ad this weekend that showed a woman opening a box with a sweater (not too bad, I thought), but she stuffed it back inside quickly and went for the next box. There was something in it she loved (I guess another Win the Holidays commercial). I don’t even know what they were advertising because all I thought was “Great. This is just how we want to raise our children! No appreciation for the thought or money spent on one present. Just throw it aside and go for the next!” Absolutely ridiculous!

     
  3. sparksofember

    March 10, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    I saw that exact commercial and had that exact reaction. Hubby and daughter and I even had the same conversation. It’s such a sad, lost world.

     

Leave a Reply

 
